Let it GO!!!

“But Jesus said to him, “No one who puts his hand to the plow and looks back to the things left behind is fit for the kingdom of God.”  (Luke 6:62)

As I sit with my 2 year old daughter watching the movie Frozen, the lead character begins to sing the song “Let it Go”.  These particular words instantly grab my attention:

It’s funny how some distance

Makes everything seem small

And the fears that once controlled me Can’t get to me at all

It’s time to see what I can do

To test the limits and break through

No right, no wrong, no rules for me

I’m FREE!

Let it go, let it go…

Many of us have heard the phrase, “Let go and let God.” It’s so simple to say, but why is it so hard for us to do – to truly let it go and let God?

If we’re honest, there are times when we aren’t even clear what it is we’re supposed to let go of. And then there are the other times we want to let it go, we try to let it go….and it just doesn’t happen. Why?

In the season that I am currently in, God has given me a magnifying glass to survey and examine my life. In this place, I have learned that I love to have control over the things I do. I am super organized and pride myself on always having a plan. I have an image and assumption of the way my life “should be” and I work hard to make sure these assumptions come to pass. If I am honest, I must admit that I have placed my own control over my life, over the supreme control of God! YIKES!

Quiet as it is kept, we ALL hold assumptions and images of our lives…(I should be married by now, I should be further along, I should have children, I should have more money, I should hold this particular position, I should have this home).  It’s not wrong to desire these good things, but we find ourselves in trouble, when our hold to our own plan, our own assumptions, our own image, stands between us and God. When things don’t go the way we’ve planned, we feel disappointed, unfulfilled, anxious, discouraged, even angry. We sadly realize that our own control hasn’t brought us the desired result we had hoped for. But GOD! When we truly commit our lives, our image, our plans with every detail to Him, and let HIM take control, God reveals to us the fulfillment and freedom we can receive in letting go and holding on instead to HIM! (Psalm 37:5).

Let it go! God’s intent is not that we would live a life of discontentment, sorrow, and shattered dreams. His plans always bring peace, hope, and an expected end (Jeremiah 29:11). Let it go! God knows our every desire, and He wants to bless us. In fact, it pleases Him to bless us. Let it go! God sees the bigger picture. He sees the purpose for every detail of our lives! After all, He wrote it! So just…

Let it go, let it go

Can’t hold me back any more

Let it go, let it go

Turn away and slam the door!

by Hawa Johnson

Reflection:

1. Is there anything you are holding on to right now that you feel you could never give up?

2. Think about what captivates you about that thing and honestly consider whether it also holds you captive.

3. Release that thing, situation, or relationship to God right now.

3 thoughts on “Let it GO!!!

Leave a Reply

